Recipes

Our Cookie

Photo shamelessly borrowed from The Pioneer Woman at http://www.thepioneerwoman.com. I would have used my own picture, but mine ended up looking like smashed horse manure.

It’s my theory that every family has a cookie. It’s the cookie that you make when your kids come home from school, when you have a cookie exchange, or when you’re just having a bad day and need comfort. Growing up, we didn’t have a cookie, unless you can count oreos, which I’m pretty sure you can’t. My Mom was a single-Mama who worked her butt off to pay for a horse and viola lessons, so there wasn’t much time left for baking cookies. That and she would have most likely burnt them.

So when I would go over to friend’s houses I was really impressed by home-cooked meals. My Mom didn’t cook much and when she did, she’d cook things like liver and onions (the best in Virginia, I might add) and sauerbraten. Let me tell you, I was not exactly the most popular house to have a slumber party at. She couldn’t just make Kraft Macaroni and Cheese. She’d make Kraft Macaroni and Cheese with baked tuna and paprika. Or a favorite snack of mine to this day – a piece of toast and american cheese sprinkled with ground red pepper.  At the time, it was frustrating for a little red-headed virgo, but looking back, I can appreciate the laughs we had in the kitchen together. Like the time she boiled water for pasta and drained the water in the collinder without actually cooking the pasta. Or the time we were looking for the milk and found it in the cabinet.

Mom and I were regular customers at Great Wall of China, Taco Bell, and Pizza Hut because they were cheap and quick and when you’re working as a full-time teacher, single parent, and your kid loves horses and music, I guess you just don’t have time to do much of anything else. . My Grandfather used to tell everyone that I knew how to get to every restaurant in a 3 miles radius by the time I was 3.

I remember a friend in high school who’s mother would make these ridiculously wonderful chocolate chip cookies for us. They’d be on this big plate on the kitchen table when we came home from school and they were so comforting after a day at school. These were the best chocolate chip cookies that I’d ever eaten and I have spent over a decade trying to copy the recipe. (Yes, I did just ask the Mom for the recipe but they definitely didn’t taste the same.)

I recently discovered The Pioneer Woman this year and everything I have made of hers has been slap-y0-mama good.  I highly recommend her Ribeye Steak with Blue Cheese and Onion Sauce. This sauce. Holy Mother of God. I could eat it off of plaster. And the steaks. You spread a tablespoon of butter on each side before grilling them. The only change I made was sprinkling garlic salt and pepper on the steaks before grilling them.

Anyways, in my quest to make all of her recipes, (because she’s an awesomely hilarious blogger who doesn’t mind talking about her fluctuating weight and her love of men in chaps), I discovered her recipe for Malted Milk Chocolate Chip Cookies. I knew from the minute I tasted the dough (because did you know that eating a tablespoon of dough doesn’t equal eating a cookie? Yeah, it’s got a totally different caloric content) that I had stumbled upon one hell of a cookie recipe. I even posted on facebook that I thought I had found my favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe.

These cookies are salty, malty, chocolately, chewy, and crispy. They get better with time and if you love malted things, you’ll adore these cookies. I’ve made them probably 6 times since the first try and I asked Greg this weekend if they could be our cookie recipe.

He said yes.

So, here is the recipe, adapted from The Pioneer Woman and I hope you enjoy them as much as we do.

Salty-Malty-Chocolatey-Chip Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup (2 Sticks) Unsalted Butter Softened – Don’t use salted butter. You’ll regret it later, trust me.
  • 3/4 cups Golden Brown Sugar
  • 3/4 cups Sugar
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 2 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1-1/4 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1-1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 3/4 cup Malted Milk Powder
  • 1 bag (12 Ounce) Dark Chocolate Chips

Instructions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Cream butter, then add both sugars and cream until fluffy. Add eggs and beat slightly, then add vanilla and beat until combined. Add malted milk powder and beat until combined.

Sift together flour, baking soda, and salt. Add to butter mixture, beating gently until just combined.

Add chocolate chips and stir in gently.

Drop by tablespoonfuls and bake for 10 to 12 minutes. Bake less if you want chewy cookies; more if you want crispy cookies.

Warning: These cookies are FLAT. Don’t worry, you’ll love them. I bake mine at 10 minutes because I like the crispy-then-chewy effect. If you really love crispy cookies, go ahead and cake them longer. Also, I baked them on a Silpat baking sheet. If you like to bake things, you should probably add this to your wish list. You’ll never burn a cookie again.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Our Cookie

  1. the cookies sound awesome! thanks for sharing your childhood. we didn’t have a cookie recipe either growing up. my mom works as a chef, so she didn’t do anymore extra cooking at home than she had too. 😉

  2. My mom would make chocolate chip cookies, but her baking was about as terrible as her cooking. I promptly took over.

    We don’t have an “our cookie” yet, but I suspect that we will have an “our bread” — cranberry nut, to be made every Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

