Uncategorized

To Thuy, With Love.

What kind of name is Thuy? Well technically, it’s Vietnamese. But who is Thuy and why is her inscription in my copy of my SIGNED BY DEB PERELMAN SMITTEN KITCHEN COOKBOOK?

Also, I have three copies of the cookbook currently on my kitchen counter.

Sigh.

Here’s what happened…

When I found out that SK was writing a cookbook I almost cried for joy. She’s the writer of my favorite blog and the creator of the following recipes which are my absolute favorite in this world:

1. Strawberry Shortcakes
2. Buttermilk Pancakes
3. Roast Chicken with Dijon Sauce
4. Tomato Sauce with Butter and Onions
5. Caramel Cake
6. Pasta with Cheese and Black Pepper
7. Cranberry Vanilla Coffee Cake
8. Dark Chocolate Tart with Gingersnap Crust
9. Swish Chard and Sweet Potato Gratin
10. Sweet Potato and Sausage Soup

Just to name a few. Hers is the only cooking blog that everything I have tried has ended up wonderfully. Well, except for her Brown Butter Sugar Shorties, and when she found out there was a problem with the recipe, she not only posted it on her blog, but made something like 7 batches of them to figure out what the problem was. It was amazing. She is amazing. She also responds to emails about Silpats and what might be the best dinner to serve your in-laws the first time they come to visit.

She’s beautiful inside and out and even thought I’ve been spending lots of time with The Pioneer Woman lately, Smitten will always be my first choice.

Knowing that, and being the awesome friend she is, T, purchased a copy for me this summer as a gift for throwing her a wedding shower. It was, honestly, the best present anyone could have given a smitten-crazy girl, but I had unfortunately already purchased a copy for myself. Luckily, I decided to give my first copy to Chickadee as a gift, who is also a pretty hardcore Smitten fan. Done. No harm done. BUT THEN Smitten announced that if you purchased a book through McNally Jackson, you could not only get a copy of the SK Cookbook, but that it would ALSO BE SIGNED BY SMITTEN HERSELF!

No one. I tell you no one who is a Smitten fan would not jump through hoops to get this book, especially if that person couldn’t make it to any of her book signings. So, knowing full well I would be receiving three books come October 30th, I ordered my personalized copy and never looked back.

Sigh. Giggle. Sigh. Did I mention how much I love Smitten?

Imagine my disappointment  however, when Greg brought my signed copy of the cookbook to our anniversary dinner (smart man) and realized that I received Thuy’s? Who the hell is Thuy? Ugh. I’ve never been so sad in my life. Well. That’s not exactly true. So I called McNally Jackson, like a million times, before I realized they are in NYC and probably don’t have time to deal with this mix-up in the middle of a hurricane. Whatever. I did finally hear back from someone and I’ll be sending Thuy’s book back (bitch) and hopefully will get my book, signed with love from Deb.

It’s probably fate knocking on my head and saying, “Look, Dude. You don’t need three copies of any book, no matter how wonderful it probably is. Stop being selfish.”

Regardless, thank you, T, for knowing me so well and Chickadee, your copy is on its way. Stay tuned for the conclusion of this story, hopefully ending with a book signed by Deb saying”

Dear Loftan. 

No matter what anyone says, you are my favorite reader. Seriously. 

Love,
Deb

Heavens. I am such a brat.

Leave a comment